Sep. 2nd, 2011

rsadelle: (Default)
I'm finding that in a lot of the Suits half AUs, Harvey is Harvey and Mike is something else (pizza delivery boy, hooker, etc.). Why not something the other way around?

Mike put down the joint and said no when Trevor wanted to sell a test, so he never got kicked out of school. He put in a little more effort, made it into Harvard Law on a scholarship, and legitimately got hired by Pearson Hardman, where he is one of the best associates the firm has ever seen.

As an associate, Mike struck up a friendship with Rachel and helped her through the LSATs. She moved away for three years to go to Harvard Law - coming back to work the summers - and promptly got hired as an associate as soon as she graduated. She advanced quickly because of everything she already knew - both about the law and about the firm - and ended up with her own office and assistant sooner than anyone expected.

Donna is tired of working for partners who either aren't worthy of her services or sexually harass her just under the line of what could be actionable, so she says yes the moment Rachel asks her to come work for her.

Harvey, meanwhile, was never rescued from the mail room by Jessica and instead worked his way up through the ranks into the secretarial/research pool. He's briefly worked for most of the partners in the firm, but it never lasts. He's too sharp and they don't like that he's smarter than they are.

This is where they are when Mike gets a promotion that gets him an office and an associate. Louis doesn't like Mike, and likes Harvey even less, so he manipulates things so Mike gets Harvey as his assistant.

This backfires entirely on Louis. Mike can keep up with Harvey. He appreciates his sense of humor, and takes (some) of his advice on style and fitting into the corporate world. Harvey is delighted (on the inside) to finally work for someone who might be as smart as he is, and who he can mold into the image of what he thinks a lawyer should be.
rsadelle: (Default)
Goals stated publicly here for accountability purposes. If I have not met them by Monday night Pacific Time, you have my permission to come back to this post and pester me about them.

Labor Day is one of the few holidays for which my place of employment is actually closed. (Technically, we're only sort of closed, but I don't have to work.) I am also having trouble giving myself permission to play with things that I don't want to do the work to turn into a giant story, so I was going to do prompt snippets. But then I started making a list of those kinds of things that are already in my head - or my snippets and such file - that could be completed/posted this weekend and thought, "Why not just write those things instead?" So that's what I'm going to do, at least three of them, even if I end up posting them all on Monday instead of one per day, and I'm giving myself permission for them to be the fun parts/snippets, and to not write everything that I could possibly do with the plot bunny. The thought that I should make them into real stories has been keeping me from working on them at all, so this is one of those times when something is better than nothing. Below is the list I made. Although I might still do whatever I want to do, feel free to comment with votes for what you'd like to see!

The List
  • The third Gabe/Victoria/Bebe story.

  • Post-episode seven melancholyish Suits gen (Harvey&Mike) with cake.

  • Tom/Sean, Tom owns a collar.

  • girl!Brendon/Sarah, crossdressing.

  • Harry/Draco EWE pre-slash wherein Draco follows Harry around for a week.

  • Evie runs away to the Human Lands: a fairy tale.

  • Suits/Sherlock crossover (because Sherlock Holmes should meet Mike Ross).
Other things I'm going to do this weekend:
  • Bake something. Bread and/or cinnamon rolls.

  • Write/post an entry about Malinda Lo's Huntress.

  • Finish the book I'm reading (Patti Smith's Just Kids) and write/post an entry about it.

  • Take a second crack at the book I stopped reading earlier this week (Patricia Briggs' River Marked).

  • Enjoy myself having lunch and seeing Colombiana with [livejournal.com profile] norwich36. (Okay, I admit it: this one is on here because I know I'll be able to do it, and it's always good to have something you're sure you can cross off your to-do list.)

Profile

rsadelle: (Default)
Ruth Sadelle Alderson

Tags

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags